Thread: Newbie... soon

Newbie... soon

Hello all

Found this forum and its great! Such a wealth of information and good humor. A great resource.

Iím moving to London in early November for a couple of years, and have been looking into continuing my passion for deer stalking while on assignment there (originally from across the pondÖ). I've been hunting for about 20 years, both Big and Small game.

Iím looking for information on:

- Hunting Licenses: been rooting around trying to understand what exactly is legally required? BASC? Deer Stalking Certificate? What?
    - Places to stalk: Iím a bit confused as I see threads based on per stalk, per morning/evening, other formats, whatís the norm? also, is there a directory of places? Any and all advice on location or particular outfits would be much appreciated!
    - Rifles: since its proving very complex to understand how to import one of my rifles from the US, Iím probably just going to build a new one locally, but in the meantime, is it possible to rent rifles from outfits in general?

Thanks so much for any and all help, its much appreciated!

Hi Dugong,

I see your intro hasn't had a response and don't want you to think we are hostile to our country cousins from over the pond! I guess the list of questions appears a tad long, so I will have a stab at two and leave one for folk who know more than I...

In the UK you don't get licensed to hunt. To kill deer legally you must have permission to take deer on a particular piece of land, the deer must be in season and you must shoot them with a legally held rifle conforming to specified calibre and/or ballistic performance. Info on deer seasons and legal calibres (which are different in Scotland and England/Wales) can be found elsewhere on this site and many others (BDS, BASC etc).