Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Which air rifle for rabbits&squirrels

Which air rifle for rabbits&squirrels

I know this may stir slightly after my last post on air rifles but I was out last night with young feller shooting feral pidgions he proved to be very good shot and asked advice on pre charged rifle and scope.
    He has access to land 300yds from next house.
    My preferance would be 177 flatter shooting.
    Anyone have advice I confess I am no expert with air rifles but have always owned one.
    Also is anyone lucking to sell full set up at the end of this month.

i have the airarms s410 and love it. caliber is a personal thing...mine is .22 for a bit more stopping power and plenty of practice so you know the drop at range. the .177 may lack a bit of power but shot placement can negate that to some extent, .177 is more prefered for shooting feathered pests where penetration of the feathers may impede a larger pellet. you will need either a divers bottle or a pump for refilling, again dependant on preference.

i used to own the falcon lighthunter and i think it is still my favourite to shoot but it was only a single shot and i px'd it years ago for my rimmie.

good luck and enjoy.

Browning A-Bolt Medalion .243 Doctor Optics 8x56 T4 Mod
    CZ Varmint .17HMR + 6.5-20x56 + Wildcat Mod
    CZ American .22lr + 3-9x56 + Mod
    Baikal 12g single ejector

12ft lbs
    Calibre: .177", due to best trajectory
    Makes to consider: Air Arms S410 PCP.
    Springer: AA TX200

FAC air.
    Calibre: .22", due to best trajectory
    Theoben Rapid, mark 2, they made 5 different triggers, the best is the Anschutz version in the first 500, not easy to find, the next best is the mark 4 which is the current design.
    Robust easy to fix, like meccano, simple design, good air bottle capacity.
    Daystate Airwolf

SD Regular
    Herefordshire, Hampshire or Essex

Good to see you've not lost the faith!!