Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Altberg V Lowa

Altberg V Lowa

Just wondering if anyone has had experience of both of these boots?

I've had a pair Lowa's before, literally done 1000's of miles in them - but always welcome a change and they are a little heavy. I'm not keen on high leg boots and like flexibility in the sole for crouching/kneeling shots.

I've tried the Altberg Tethera - great boot but too stiff for me.

So I've whittled it down to:

Altberg Warrior Aqua Microlite MkII - Altberg Bootmakers - Richmond, North Yorkshire

or Lowa Mountain GTX - LOWA Mountain GTX

but possibly the Sepia version, but have a few doubts about Nubuck?? - LOWA Mountain Sepia GTX

The Lowa's can be found for about £40 cheaper too...

I have no experience of Lowa's, but bought a pair of Altberg Velthags following a recommendation from one of the ex forces guys on here. I've had them for two seasons now and have been delighted with them. They feel as light and comfortable as my old pair of Brasher's, but are higher and more supportive.

I don't think you'll go wrong with a pair of Altbergs.

You can get your Altbergs tailor made for free! Love mine had Altbergs for about 15 years!