Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Roe wont go down!

Roe wont go down!

Ive been out yesterday and this morning using a sauer 6.5x55 with federal powershock 140 grain soft point.
    Both times i hit a roe in the boiler room and both times it walked off never to be seen again.
    Whats going on ?im a newbie and this is the first time ive shot deer but the shots were good and they hit the mark.The gun shoots fine at those ranges on paper and ive tested it since so no loss of zero.
    Should i be using ballistic tip for roe in this caliber ?

I doubt it is the ammo. I used 150grn powershok in my .308 to great effect on roe.

I undertand that you are new to stalking? If you search the forum you will find plenty of threads on how far mortally wounded deer can travel.

Did you recover the carcasses in the end? If not, I would advise that you should follow up both strike points with a dog in order to confirm your strike, and if necessary track and dispatch any wounded deer. If you don't have your own dog, I'm sure that you could ask on the forum for assistance from a member local to you who has a dog trained for deer.

308rws has given you good advice. I was just a bit puzzled when you said the deer walked off never to be seen again. Are you saying the deer gave no sign at all of being hit? there must have been some sort of reaction to the shot even if you had thrown a stone and hit it, some sort of reaction could be expected. With the combination you used then you could expect to shoot a roe hundreds of yards away, what range were you at?, did you find any blood at the scene?, how far and for how long did you search for it? were you alone. I take it you saw the strike as you say they hit the mark. As it stands I can make no sense of it at all.

Distinguished Member tartinjock's Avatar
    Nairn, Inverness-shire
    I have used 100gr Fed Powershok in my .243 on Sika and Fallow with great effect, as has been said there should have been some sort of reaction.