Holkham: Stalking and larder training.

Backgound: I am a novice stalker. I took my first deer with IanF two years ago, passed my DSC1 last year, and have now been out nine times altogether. Paid stalking remains an occasional treat for me at the moment.

My partner J and I spend a lot of time in North Norfolk, and have purchased venison from the Holkham Estate for several years, from Glyn and from his predecessor Julian. J is interested in butchery, she used to process her own lamb, and does the same with deer I have taken.

Earlier this year the BDS AGM was held in Norfolk, and visits were arranged to Holkham Hall and Houghton Hall, to see how their park deer are managed.

The visits were fascinating, and J was treated with great kindness, special transport being laid on just for her, as she was recovering from a recent ski injury.

We took the opportunity to catch up with Glyn, and he invited us to gain more experience of gralloching, skinning and butchering at Holkham's superb larder facilities. There was also the suggestion some stalking might be possible.

Once the Fallow buck season had opened I got on the 'phone and we arranged to meet up.

We discussed our plans over a morning coffee. I wanted to gain more experience in gralloching, J wanted to improve her self-taught butchery skills, and I booked a morning and evening stalk.

A couple of days later we met up at 06:00 to accompany Glyn as he went out to cull fallow prickets. He had already made a good start on achieving his planned numbers, so it was an exercise of his skills to find and approach a suitable specimen in a safe position. We saw that park culling is a skilled and sensitive task, particularly when the public have access to the park, there are many properties scattered over the estate, and the terrain is so flat. Safe and humane shots are paramount.