Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: steyr scout anyone got any views

steyr scout anyone got any views

Looking at purchasing 2 new rifles and am at present looking at a few different ones. like the idea of the light weight scout. Just throught I would but the question out there and see your views.

I have been running a Steyr Scout for about 5 years in 308. I have not found it lacking in any department. It is lightweight, tough, ergonomically sound, very friendly and accurate. I know most people that run them stick a conventional scope on instead of an intermediate eye relief one, don't bother with the ching sling and even fit a Harris bipod on!
    This, to my mind, ignores the finest aspects of this design, only when used in a field situation do these qualities become apparent. I can never see myself changing to a conventional design again, unless it was for a heavy calibre rifle.

Scout in .223

I have had a Scout in .223 for about a year. I shoot homeloads and it groups 3/8" @100 yards. I have a Svarovski 6-24 PV on it and I have taken foxes at over 300 yards. I love it.

I have a Ching sling but haven't really used it - most of my shots are taken in a prone position.

I would buy one again without hesitation.

I've been thinking of getting one of these in 308 too, swapping over from a sako 75 in 6.5x55; looking for a lighter outfit with a bit more power. I would need to use the a mod with it though, can you explain the nature of problems you had with the mod?

What kind of moderator were you using? Has anyone else had similar difficulties?