Thread: Looking For Expert Opinion

Looking For Expert Opinion

I am no reloading expert but have been reloading all my ammo for .22-250 and .243 for years. Initially I worked out a load for both rifles and have stuck with that both rifles being as accurate as suits my wants. (within 1/2" at 100yds)

My regime is to use the same cases about 5 times, neck size the cases, clean using ultrasound cleaner and case tumbler, resize the case length (where necessary) and chamfer. Through this I have never had a single problem.

My mate has recently started to reload for his .243. He obtains once fired Norma cases from a relative. These cases fit his rifle without full length resizing. He loads the cases using almost the same load as I use and they are accurate. The bolt cloases over no problem and after firing the case ejects no problem. But, after being neck sized, cleaned and the case length checked they will not go back into the rifle. My simplistic view is that they came out of there they should be able to go back in.

Any suggestions as to the cause?

He has not adjusted his dies correctly. The brass must have been previously fired in a chamber shorter than that on his rifle, he has neck sized and it has fitted. The subseqent firing in his own chamber has allowed the brass to stretch at little and the neck sizing has not set it back sufficiently to allow it to rechamber this time. He needs to bump the shoulder back a little further than he is currently doing.

By the by, I claim no status as an "expert".

Just because you are paranoid, doesn't mean they aren't out to get you......

You'll not get anything approaching expert opinion from me and in all probability Brian is right but I had something similar happen to me.