Thread: Ruger M77

Ruger M77

Hi all. I have been offered a Ruger M77 for around 300. the Rifle looks to be in great condition and does not look to have done much work. I will only be using it a few times a year really so dont want to go above and beyond and shell out loads on a new rifle. It has a floor plate and have been told that these can be a very personal choice to shooters, most people preferring a magazine instead. What do they usually go for? Any info on these as stalking rifles would be very much appreciated, Tim.

I have been shooting for over 25 years and and the only Ruger Rifle i have ever seen that shot anything like acceptable was a Varmint model. May i suggest before you buy you get to shoot it and see.
    Will be interesting to read of others experiences.

I have rebarreled perhaps 20, Ruger Model 77 rifles over the last 25 years. Not all of them were bad shooters, but a few notable ones were. Ruger has had a couple of problems with their rifles, the most noteworthy being that they have shifted barrel-blank suppliers over the years. Originally they made their own but they were terrible at it. The first barrel I did at gunsmithing school in the machine shop was a Ruger 77 in 270 (mid 70's vintage) that looked as tho it'd been rifled with a cold chisel by an angry antigunner. I don't like Rugers for my own reasons (a lemon of a shooter 22Hornet, purchased new, that wouldn't group and Ruger couldn't care) but others do, and from what I understand, the accuracy has come a long way. I'd also shoot it first.

All this said, I just agreed to buy a Ruger 77 in 220 Swift that has a small bulge at the muzzle. I'll recrown it and shoot it, and will have yet another opinion to offer.~Muir

(Nikon scope, Burris rings, $250 US. Couldn't pass it up)