Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: land rovers help

land rovers help

I am a novice stalker in Hampshire looking to buy a land rover have the option of long or short wheel base both 1998 vehicles short wheel base 92,000 m private seller I know the garage who have looked after the vehicle, no known probs 3,000 pounds . the long wheel base has only 52,000 miles but is a bit of a shed as company fleet vehicle. 3,800 pounds,
    apart from use for getting in and out of stalking grounds I want to use it for lamping, some people say the long wheel base is less stable being more likly to slide about and have less traction, (its very wet where I live)

anybody have any ideas

lwb more room,handling is downto the ability of the driver.
    why a landy?
    there is better

doc get yourself a suzuki jeep put a big sunroof in the top and a good set of chunky tyres on it go anywhere do anything vechile

was thinking of a toyota truck, but the offer of above came up and I am fed up with all the crap from fishing and hunting being in my car when I go to work on monday, it stinks !!
    Thanks for the advice will have to get something soon though

Yup I had a suzuki jeep on off the proper ones not the hairdressers specials
    It was soft top built a roll bar out of scaff tubing big tyres awesome little tool only sold it as I got a rangey cheap

Where we used it was literally a swamp, we got it stuck on one occasion but 3 of us pushed it out up to our knees in mud !!! Try doing that with a landy no chance

legal my point exactly i own a disco and a suzuki i know which one id want to be driving when it gets shitty

I had a disco would do all the things i wanted it to but rolled a lot on cornering
    SWB defender should do a lot more
    LWB i would be worried of bottoming out
    Can get spares anywhere