Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: maximum distance

maximum distance

Hi all, i'm just starting out stalking and was wondering what you'd say to be the maximum distance, you'd shoot at a deer. I havn't mentioned with what calibre and which species, i'd just like to hear people's views.

Hello Barney, welcome! I can see a can of worms with no lid on it regarding this thread.. How long is a piece of string..!?

Stalking is the name of the game so as close as you can get or need to get to take a humane shot.. Just because you shoot a deer at 200yds doesnt mean you havent stalked it.. Thats my sweeping statement for the night, now wheres that tin hat?!

I hear that most deer are shot at 40m or less

HHMMMM. I shoot every week from now until March, and I will shoot at ranges from 30yds out to 275yds. BUT I know the ground like the back of my hand and the ranges all over it, also how my rifle shoot over those ranges. So my responce would be "know your strengths, but it's more important to know your weaknesses". Only ever shoot within "your" capabilities.

P.S. I stalk Fallow, so a large target. Also use a .243.

I dunno really, like the above mentions how longs a peice of string. I'd say if you where having to even consider aiming off it's probably to far. Ground dependant I'd probably shoot up to 250 yards max with the .270, no more than 100yards with the .243 for Reds but would push that out for Roe. And my little .222 I've never shot anything further than around the 80 yard mark. But forgetting calibre's for a minute I'd try and get as close as I could, that's what it's all about, but 200yards in some cases might be as close a you can get.
    Last edited by aliS; 13-10-2011 at 22:19.

It depends is the short answer. The longer answer is it depends on lots of things. Factors that spring to mind include:

How vital is it to shoot? Is there a FC cull plan to meet?
    What time of day is it? If it's am, then it will get lighter if I need to go looking for a beast.