Roe Deer & Sheep: How long to give it??

rigboot

Gents,

On my local ground there has been a good number of sheep on a particularly productive beat for Roe deer.

Since the sheep took up residence the Roe took off.

Now the sheep have gone after a few months but the ground is still pretty bad with sheep scat, so realistically, when do you reckon I should start seeing more Roe around.

I have guestimated about 6-8 weeks to let things settle and give the ground time to recover but whats your findings? Am I in the ball park for timescale??

Cheers

Rb

I am not an expert, but depending on the quality of the feeding it could be as little as 3-5 days.

Reds seems to be quicker to get over it,you can occasionally see them in the same field as stock, although they seem to resent cattle less!

Rgds

H

I am not an expert, but depending on the quality of the feeding it could be as little as 3-5 days.

Reds seems to be quicker to get over it,you can occasionally see them in the same field as stock, although they seem to resent cattle less!

Rgds

H

Hi all,

I know it goes against the collective wisdom but have frequently seen ( as recently as two weeks ago) Roe sharing the same field as sheep (at the same time) both here in Fife and in Tayside. Strangely though I have never witnessed this on other ground that I have been on in Argyll and in Moray or Highland region. Perhaps deer density and human intervention also play a part.

Rgds

Remmy7

agree with herne had it on my own ground when sheep move out of a field/hill roe can be back in very quickly and i,ve quite often got red feeding alongside the cattle even had a wee buck that grazed all the time with a stag right beside him when the sheep moved out of a wee hill park every time the stag moved a few yards buck went with him

Thanks for the replies and your thoughts gents.
I had a wander round some of the ground for two evenings and one early morning.