First wild boar trip

Von

Going to Poland for three days wild boar shooting on the 1st of December. It's my first time wild boar shooting, have any of you guys any tips for me? also what are the fundimental peices of kit i should take apart from my gun and bullets?

Looking forward to it but just don't know what to expect!

Von

Stay quiet, stay on the right side of the ride, as per instructed by your operators. Dont shoot a lead sow with lots of little piglets on its heels! You have to strike a balance of first being safe and also taking your chances quickly. I think this time or the first time is all about seeing how it works and a learning process. I never fired a shot on my first trip, was too hesitant, but better to be safe than reckless! My next trip, once i new the score, I shot 7. It was my best trip ever.:)

Warm clothes, good boots. A little tripod seat is a huge benefit as you will be standing around for hours. Be quiet and do not move about once in position in the drive - hence the seat. Bring an emergency supply of Mars bars as the food can be shite in places.

Boar do not require much lead. Shotgunners tend to miss in front, remember a HV bullet is travelling three times faster than a shotgun load. on a crossing shot, swing the horizontal crosshair through the body, as the vertical hair passes along his head towards his snout, fire. If a boar is running generally towards you at pretty much any angle, shoot at his snout.

British deer stalkers can be very hesitant waiting for a perfect shot that never appears. Take whatever safe shot presents

Last edited:
Going to Poland for three days wild boar shooting on the 1st of December. It's my first time wild boar shooting, have any of you guys any tips for me? also what are the fundimental peices of kit i should take apart from my gun and bullets?

Looking forward to it but just don't know what to expect!

Von