Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: OK My first load ! .308

OK My first load ! .308

I shot some test groups in october , from 45gr to 49 gr ,reloader 15 powder 150 gr norma rounds ,using SAKO once fired cases trimmed and great to go .cci primed . RESULT was 47gr best performance !. I have re loaded 30 rounds to this spec! .
    DO I USE A LANYARD , for my first rounds ! As I would like my bits intact for xmas!. or go with my gut instinct that all will be well!.
    This may be a ******** post to some !! but how did you start!.
    Regards Trapper , (twitching and eager to go )

Do you mean you plan on operating the trigger with a piece of string? If you've shot 49gr of powder before now,then 47 sounds very middle of the road,so I don't see the problem.
    I'm not saying I'm an expert,but if the load is less than tested,then that is going to be safer in the chamber pressure side of things.

If I remember correctly Trapper the results you got from your first reloading attempt were cock on and looked like you could shoot the b******s off a knat with that middle group.
    Go for it mate ( but I have never reloaded so it might not be the right thing to do)

DL + Jonathon
    DL I see what you mean , just my confidence taking a whirl!.
    Johnathon , swampy as my wittness I shot well , 47 gr was my best grouping . but we all strive for that I just want to get the best result for my reload and safely!.If I am gonna join the big boys I better know what the ferk I am talking about.

It sounds as if you are having your first swim without your armbands on, your first go unsupervised.

You worked up to this load, you know it works and is safe for your gun, and according to Alliant Powders own site for a 150 grain round you are well within the recommended limits.

Go for it, and use the lanyard to tie of the ankles of your trousers, just in case