Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: muntjac trouble

muntjac trouble

hi , im new to stalking and have been spending alot of time lately trying to shoot muntjac in some of the woods on our farm. however , it seems that no matter how much time i put in i never have any success eaven though there are numerous munjac in the woods ,i know by the amount of tracks and because we all see them in there whilst walking the dogs through there. i am using a .223 although in places you can only see 50 yards because it is so over grown.are there any tips like using licks or calls that could give me more luck. any help appreciated, thanks

Don't try to hard or over do it. Sit tight in the wood and let them show themselves, preferably on a ride or well used path. You will soon get the measure of them if they are as numerous as you say. Try a Buttalo for calling when you have a bit more experience,good luck.

If you can it may be more successful putting up a doe box and baiting an area.

You need to get a high seat and put it in a position overlooking areas of deer activity.
    If you are new to stalking, and trying to stalk muntjac on foot, then you are wasting your time. They will have the upper hand on you in any small wood.
    Get in a high seat an hour or two before last light and wait. The wood will come alive like you've never seen!
    (Doe boxes are not too good for munties as they tend to be too close and will notice you. Baiting deer is illegal!)
    Last edited by Monkey Spanker; 14-12-2011 at 00:09.

Hi Minikeeper,

I am also a novice and have been having lots of fun difficulties with Muntjac. There are a number of things that I have learned this year of having my own (albeit shared) stalking ground, - Slow slow slow, glass glass glass, and most of all enjoy!
    They aint easy That is the appeal to me and long may it last.