Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 6.5 x 55 could this be the ultimate stalking round ?

6.5 x 55 could this be the ultimate stalking round ?

Hello I the proud owner of a cz 550 in 6.5 x 55 with a t8 mod and a mediocre scope ( soon to be upgraded ) and I am new to stalking ,I took my first deer with john robsons sako in 6.5 x 55 and culled 5 red deer on new years eve with the afore mentioned cz of my own using lapua 155 grain soft points,I dropped 3 with boiler room shots and 2 with head shots,the head shots were instantly fatal and 2 out the 3 boiler room shots folded instantly and 3rd animal took 3 steps and then folded.Before selecting a calibre and applying for it I did my homework and spoke to alot of shooters and shot alot of their rifles some of which tried to knock my teeth out and dislocate my shoulder and after more thought and more reading I decided on the swede I dont know if it was because of the mild shooting,low recoil,keeping your sight picture,low pressure,varied bullet weight ( 100-160 grain ),low meat damage,or that with the correct bullet choice and correct shot placement it will tackle all 6 deer species in blighty,could I have got the ultimate stalking round from the off ?.......It has been around for 100 years or so , so are we stuck in our ways and slow on the uptake ,as the europeans use it for boar and also moose in scandinavia and it does the business for them !

please discuss,cheers lee

No mate you should have read some of the threads on here, and got your self a 270 this is the Ultimate deer round full stop.

PS as a newbie why are you head shooting?

As to hopfully going stalking on my own and hopefully be purchusing my first rifle soon it's nice to see your thought on such rifle.. As a newbie starting this conversation would probly hae worded it wrong so decided against it