Thread: big thanks to jammross65

big thanks to jammross65

well it all started last year before i deployed i wanted to take a sika 2 reasons id never seen one out of a book and shooting one would complete my six species last year i tried during late september through a hurricane and despite seeing alot of deer and a huge stag im no sika expert but you could see he was massive sporting both impressive antlers and body weight that would make a red deer think twice, we failed to connect. I had such a good experience and learned alot i asked brian if he would let me try in january on my r&r and he very kindly went out of his way to fit me in and moved both work and home commitments.
    So after 3 months overseas i finally arrived at peebles ready to go. We met brian in the morning and followed him to his stalking grounds the wind was a cold nw and up to 35mph brian explained it had been very quiet lately and even though there aws alot of deer around getting a shot or seeing one would be a different story.
    i went to a high seat under brians direction and my friend john walked to his while brian went to overwatch a track hoping between the 3 of us we could catch up with a few fat hinds. Within 15 minutes i heard crashing through to trees to my left i thought brian may have pushed a herd as he moved to his position , i got ready. A herd of 30 sika broke the tree line 20-30 yards from the high seat once on the clearing they put there heads into the wind and never broke pace, vanishing over the ridge, a fox followed suit a couple of minutes followed a few minutes later by a short haired pointer. obviously the reason the deer left the wood. The pointer moved to the high seat and sniffed at my sticks below i thought it may be a lost dog so tried to catch it and tie it to the high seat. No joy it ran off back into the wood. I saw several more hinds leave the wood to my right well out of range and head over the hill.