Recession , How many more will hit the wall

Monument veiw

Its a worrying time for most at the moment . I had a call yesterday from a long standing friend who has been in the building game for 25 yrs to ask me if i wanted to buy any of his kit , obviously i asked him why and he explained that he is about to go bust / hit the wall .
His situation has been caused by a company that he sub contracted work off of had gone bust basically leaving him owed 2 months labour costs and the knock on effect is going to put him through the hoop .
In reality being a builder myself with minimal work in front of me i too will be pulling the pin on working for myself very soon .

I suppose that what iam asking is how many others are being effected by this ever deepening reccession ?

hi same boat has you eccept i do grounds/tree/hedge work for rural houseing association and parish councils having to quote so low that im having a job to break even private gardening no better looks like i will have to try to get back into enginering if theres any left:banghead:

Worked offshore for 11 years then 26 as a self-employed haulier and have today put my truck up for sale... £1.50/litre and the most controlled industry in the UK have swung my decision.

forgot the travelers (rant) undercutting me no vat/insurance/tools to pay for they did a p--s poor job of next doors coniffers then thay ask me if i can tidy them up and pull a face when i ask for a bit of cash to cover costs

Hey Niel tell me about it , a farmer whos ground i shoot over rings me at stupid hrs to repair things like a water leek or to re hang a gate he has hit off ,even to replace tiles on his roof all of which i do for the bit of shooting ( no charge ) then when he has the outside of the farm house rejointed he gets some1 else to do it , i wouldnt mind but his land is the smallest and least productive permission i shoot . :banghead: