Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: mole trap

mole trap

Hi all been asked by a local farmer to deal with some moles which are causing him some problems. Does anyone know of any best methods or traps to use ?

send a pm to countryboy. hes a top mole catcher and sound bloke

i use the double long ones which trap at either end .

hi woody
    try gives a lot of good advise how
    to trap moles.

Talpex traps. Through force of circumstance I am becoming quite good at it. I have used the tunnel ones but have not found them as successful.

But do not pay 17 for two. Only put up the link for you to see the options.

Quote Originally Posted by collieman View Post
    hi woody
    try gives a lot of good advise how
    to trap moles.
    +1 for this. i do pest control for a living and have always gassed moles as the boss didnt like using traps. after reading the advice from walcote farm i persuaded the boss to let me try and have not looked back. i tried talpex traps and they work but no better than the traditional scissor type. i always bend the legs of the traps as advised and compact the tunnel.

happy trapping and let us know how you go

To be honest you are probably better to get somebody that knows what they are doing, even if you have to pay as the time you will save in the long run will save you a fortune,if you go down this road ask if you can tag along and see what you can learn,even if you get a pro in for a day or depending how bad the infestation is
    90% will be caught on the first setting so you could have a go at the re sets, expect to pay approx 10 per hr + 5 per mole.....

Hope this helps

Hi Woody

If you are not familiar with mole trapping , go for the small Fenn type scissor trap, they are the smallest ones of the bunch and the probably the cheapest @ around 5.50 each.