mole trap

woody1978

Hi all been asked by a local farmer to deal with some moles which are causing him some problems. Does anyone know of any best methods or traps to use ?

hi woody
try www.walcotefarm.co.uk gives a lot of good advise how
to trap moles.

+1 for this. i do pest control for a living and have always gassed moles as the boss didnt like using traps. after reading the advice from walcote farm i persuaded the boss to let me try and have not looked back. i tried talpex traps and they work but no better than the traditional scissor type. i always bend the legs of the traps as advised and compact the tunnel.

happy trapping and let us know how you go

To be honest you are probably better to get somebody that knows what they are doing, even if you have to pay as the time you will save in the long run will save you a fortune,if you go down this road ask if you can tag along and see what you can learn,even if you get a pro in for a day or depending how bad the infestation is:?:
90% will be caught on the first setting so you could have a go at the re sets, expect to pay approx £10 per hr + £5 per mole.....

Hope this helps

Hi Woody

If you are not familiar with mole trapping , go for the small Fenn type scissor trap, they are the smallest ones of the bunch and the probably the cheapest @ around 5.50 each.

The half barrel or duffus trap is the most commonest trap, I use the fenn and the talpex type myself I find the duffus take a lot of ground to set them and really I use them for sandy soil if at all. keep away from the long handled traps you see in the garden centres, they are terrible to use.