ADVISE,PLEASE.

the scudd

Hi,i,m from N.I. iv,e been asked by a farmer to cull a few fallow which are causing him some problems. On my firearm certificate it states that my rifle may only be used on an approved range in N.I. As my only stalking ground is in southern ireland, what,s my first step in getting this farmer,s land on my certificate,sorry i forgot to mention the land is bordering forestry.thanks.

The law and conditions can only apply within the legislative area. If you take a rifle outside that area, you must comply with local laws.

I am not an expert on the law in Ireland, but say if I took my rifle out of the country form England to France, the UK police have no jurisdiction so can't prosecute.

Yes, Essentially correct. The (British) law stops at the border. What you do, or don't do with your property once over that border is your business and that of the Republic or Ireland.

However it may be advisable to check exactly what the law is in Northern Ireland regarding taking a rifle out of the six counties. That may need to be checked.

Personally? I would ask the farmer if he could give you a written permission and then ask that your Certificate be varied to allow "Deer Stalking and Culling in the Republic or Ireland and other places outside Northern Ireland" as you may need that to get authority to purchase soft point ammunition.

Which you will need to zero with at some stage before or on your trip.

If you are a member of BASC they can advise too.

It looks like you have just picked up some stalking in NI.

Get a permission letter from the farmer and put it to your FLO to get the conditions changed.