Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What 4x4

What 4x4

Hi Gents,
    looking to get 4x4, this will be multipurpose will be used as family vehichle as well as a shooting bus so realy need a five door, also looking at diesel. As I do quite a few miles I am after something that isn't going to need to stop at every petrol station you pass.
    Budget is up to four grand. Options I have been looking at are Vitara, X-trail diesel and the freelander td4. Any recomendations would be greatly recieved. Also as I am no mechanic something reliable is also important. Have looked at sportage and Santa fe but as I don't know anything about these have put on the back burner.

Cheers in advance

I have only had Jimnys, but from having had two over 12 years I can honestly tell you that in my experience Suzuki's are very reliable indeed. I don't believe they are the most frugal deisels though.

May I suggest you go and physically look at various different models as some of them although having five doors are a bit lacking in load space. Of course it will depend on what you normally carry about. I was quite shocked at the lack of load space of some of them. In the Vitara it would have been cramped once the wheel chair was in might have got one dog in as well but not more than that. OK if you have a terrier or spaniel but a big lab or other breed would be a bit cramped. Just something to bear in mind.

well may just add my thoughts.

9 years ago i started hunting with my first privately owned vehicle, and it was a 1.3 suzuki sj 413, it was fantastic,went just about anywhere i needed too, a little bumpy as it was leaf spring suspension and to top end was as fast as a brick sliding down a plank of wood wrapped in sand paper,

i then moved on to the 1.6 petrol vitara soft top, again fantastic and the buyer still uses it today ( but hes on one of the forums im banned from) so he can't comment.

i then moved the a newer one this time a hard top. same again cracking wee truck.