Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 6.5 x47 or 7mm-o8

6.5 x47 or 7mm-o8

i read in sporting rifle a good report about the 6.5x47 calibre. i am undecided between that calibre or a 7mm-08 for allround stalking.does anybody use either' any advice as i am still a novice .i have a 243 /been told it is not suitable for the larger deer

I have been using the 7-08 for over a year & I think it's the cats pyjamas, like you I heard that some stalkers wont allow people to use a .243 on larger deer,so got the 7mil to be on the safe side!
    The 6.5 X 47 does sound good, I suppose it just depends if you need factory ammunition readily available & if they are producing this chambering in factory rifles.
    I think you have the right idea going for 'more gun' having 140gns of bullet in your quarry's kill zone might go some way to make up for unintended pilot error.

7mm 08

dave have no experience of the 6.5 x 47
    but now own a 7mm 08 still early days at the moment
    reloading new rounds etc shot a couple of roe no problems
    reason for going with the calibre was that havent heard a
    bad word said about it .
    can only back up what D L has allready stated
    hope this helps regards pete .

SD Regular
    East Midlands M1/M69 Junction 21
    I would absolutely go for the factory calibre as there will be a time when you forget your ammunition! Also many lets are increasingly demanding "factory loaded ammunition" only.

For that reason and that when you decide you want it no longer it will be easier to sell I go for the 7-08. It is also a very popular calibre in France being their 308 "substitute"!

These wildcats are usually the "next big thing" by copywriters with nothing better to write or gunsmiths with something to sell. The successful wildcats are all near enough factory cartridges by now!

get yourself some 100grain bullets for your .243 there are many keepers in the highlands using them as a general porpuse estate rifle.