Thread: gun weight

gun weight

I know this isnt about stalking and I hope I havnt put it in the wrong place but wondered if anybody had any answers.

I have been dragging around the fields for the last ten years a 12 bore Browning 325, Yesteurday on the last driven shoot of the season someone showed me there lightweight Browning 525 game gun, it weighed less than my 20 bore.

Question, anybody had any experience of these, how do they make them so light, does it effect anything, I guess the recoil might be a little heavier.

Seems the best way forward unless anybody has had any problems with them.

i bought my wife a fixed choke 12 bore B525 hunting 28" to replace her 20 gauge lincoln. it was lighter than the 20g lincoln, and also much better to use than my lanber sporting, which had to be sold once i'd use the b525. the only downside that i can see of them is that they are not proofed for steel shot, and you get a right bollocking when you lean your wifes new gun against barbed wire and it slides down the fence! she shoots game with 25g cartridges to reduce recoil - yesterday i was using 32's in it with no probems (apart from earache about the amount of scratches on it)

I use a browning 325 sporter which is pretty heavy , I also have a nice wee miroku 20b which I use for walked up and a 28b, the secret with lighter guns is to use lighter cartridges.

For most walked up and driven game I feel 1oz loads in a 12b are ample although once you start to push out the distance with high pheasants I go up to 32grams as I do for ducks and 36 for geese.

I see folk using 1oz and above in 20b's which is going to be uncomfortable , I think heavy loads- heavy gun, light loads-light gun.

SD Regular
    East Midlands M1/M69 Junction 21
    All modern guns over and under are too heavy and all very old side by side guns are too! Anything over 7lbs 8ozs in a 30" barrel 70mm chambered double gun is quite ridiculous. And without reason.