Setting up sizing dies and 'cam over'

Bukshot

Hi Everyone. I'm new to reloading and just picking up my bits and pieces to get started, so apologies if this has been discussed before on a similar post. Just wondered what 'camming over' is in relation to setting up the sizing dies in the press. Is it necessary and why? I've read that some die manufacturers recommend it and some do not. Not sure so would like some advise please. Thanks.

Hi Everyone. I'm new to reloading and just picking up my bits and pieces to get started, so apologies if this has been discussed before on a similar post. Just wondered what 'camming over' is in relation to setting up the sizing dies in the press. Is it necessary and why? I've read that some die manufacturers recommend it and some do not. Not sure so would like some advise please. Thanks.

If you take a look at your reloading press from the side you will see the linkage pins all align at the Top Dead Centre of the stroke, some presses allow linkage movement past TDC this 'over centre' movement enables the 'camming' effect.
It is also a great way to damage / wear your press link pins and arms by being heavy handed in setting up your dies.

Contact the shell holder means contact, you do not need to to feel a high resistance as you go over centre on the ram stroke, some people contact the die just enough to 'feel' the 'contact' so that psychologically they know that they have completed a stroke when the lever arm has stopped.

I have a Lee press that physically is stopped from going over centre, it is perfectly usable and produces great ammo!
My four other presses 2xRCBS, Corbin and C&H all have this 'camming effect' I avoid camming as I want my presses NOT to break or wear out!