Generally we do not remove or delete entire accounts for the following reasons:
- If you have posted on the site your posts (and other people's replies to your posts) are an integral part of the site. If your posts suddenly vanish then those threads and discussions will make no sense.
- If your account is deleted there is nothing to stop a new account with an identical name being created. This can cause confusion and could even be used fraudulently if other users were not aware that the username had changed hands.
If (for whatever reason) you don't want to participate on the site any more simply log out and walk away.
- Spam accounts are removed because by definition they are unwanted and all their posts will be unwanted too.
- Privacy issues - for example if your username or posts give away your name or location. In this instance we will usually rename your account on request, or edit the posts in question so the sensitive content is removed.