Thread: Hi from Gloucestershire

Hi from Gloucestershire

Hi All,

I've been lurking for a while, so thought I'd dive in. I've been shooting on and off for <cough> 'several' decades in one form or another, but I am brand new to stalking. Until a few years ago I led a fairly nomadic lifestyle (forces) which wasn't conducive to building local contacts and permissions. Now I'm a bit more settled I'm trying to address that. I shoot shotgun and .22/.17 rimfire on a few local permissions but I've yet to find anywhere that will let me shoot deer.

I have a deer legal rifle, but it's currently conditioned for range use only. I have been on one paid stalk which was very enjoyable but didn't result in the opportunity for a shot - so my cherry is intact! I may do one or two more of these, but the costs mount up so long term, I'd really like a local stalking permission of my own. I'm considering doing DSC1 to gain knowledge and build contacts, but I'm slightly reluctant to spend the cash if I don't get chance to use it, so a bit of a catch 22! I did do the German Jagdshein (sort of DSC equivalent) many years ago, but moved on before I had chance to take advantage of it.

I try to learn as much as I can by watching deer when I'm out pigeon decoying, rimfire bunny bashing, or just walking through the woods with the binos. I'm lucky to live in a beautiful part of the world with lots of deer, finding somewhere to shoot them is the challenging bit!

Anyhow, enough of my waffle - I may be back with lots of bone questions, forgive me!

wotcha Dave, welcome to the family!

you sound like me.. happy mooching around in a wood with no ****er bothering you!!

lots of good stuff on here and lots of opinions and a mine of knowledge.

Welcome to the site Dave, what part of glos are you from? i have a chap not far from me who i go out with and he is very reasonable.
    regards, Jez.
    slowly slowly catch a monkey..

Hi Jez, I live just outside Stroud