After three trips stalking with yorkshireroestalking (John Robson) I thought it was time I did a write up.

I have been working through my DSC2 for the last two years, and after a number of trips with other stalkers without only one success (thanks go to Ian Farrington), and often without seeing any deer at all, I was getting a little weary. The preparation, then the drive to some remote location, only to be met with a long walk around and no end result had begun to leave me feeling a little disheartened.

My first trip up to John was around the middle of March.

On meeting John I can describe him as nothing other than a Yorkshireman. He states what he wants done and what he will do to get it done, and he delivers. What more can you ask for.

The evening was very sunny and warm, with an intermittent breeze of around ten miles per hour.

It took some time to drive to the shoot, which gave a fair amount of time for John to ask the questions he needed answers to, and for me to get to know my guide/AW. John explained the what, where and how. The ground which John had selected was new stalking for him and it had only been granted a week before so the deer where not used to being taken.

After parking up, and me getting all my gear on and ready, we set off.

We slowly hugged a hedge for around two hundred metres, stopping to glass the surrounding fields of rape and wheat for signs of life, but nothing was showing. As we neared a feed bin at a ďTĒ in the hedge John whispered that the deer would normally be deer in the next field. Creeping forward we glassed the field and sure enough, at a little over four hundred metres away there were six deer grazing off the wheat.

I noted that the wind was now behind us, which made stalking in difficult as there was only the hedge we were stood in and open field between us and them, or a long detour to allow an approach from the opposite side.