Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Deer stalking how do you hunt? What works for you?

Deer stalking how do you hunt? What works for you?

Hello to all,

Are there any stalker out there willing to share there experiences advice?

As a deer stalker I sometimes wonder how other people go about deer stalking. What methods do the employ? I am assuming there are some other people on this forum who are also self taught and would benefit from hearing how others hunt. I believe it’s never good to stick to one method
    maybe someone out there could share something like “this works for me” or “I use this method this time of year”.

I am gathering Ireland, England, Scotland and Wales are pretty unique as the are some of the only countries who actually hunt via hob nail express on foot other countries use mainly high seats, tree stands and driven hunts to achieve their cull quota.

What I am implying if people would add e.g. After a heavy rain shower and shortly after the sun comes out concentrate on fields on the woodland edge where the sun is shining as deer don’t like staying in the forests with the water dripping from the trees.

Some stalkers say a frosty morning is not a good time to go hunting as the frozen coarse grass cuts the deer’s tongue.

A light rain is a good time to hunt as it helps keep noise and scent down.

Mature beast are nearly always last to enter a field and first to exit as the know from experience
    There’s more room at the dinner table because the other who didn’t are not around anymore.

Drag a deer head first as there is less friction with the ground.

Watch livestock as usually if there lying down deer are also and the same when it comes to feeding.

Please refrain form being contradictory after all we should help each other as much as possible
    Thanking you in advance for your time.

I for one would be interested in other people's tips.
    Despite having a decent length of time stalking highland red I am "Roe novice".