Thread: Motor function and scopes...

Motor function and scopes...

After reading the "what Scope 243" thread ( I have forgotten the exact title) I wondered wether the extra wobble observed with high power scopes is present with a lower mag. I studied psychology at uni, and although it was 20 years ago I am now wondering wether there may be some psychology at play here:

A poster observed that the wobble that is visible with a high mag scope is still present with a low mag scope.... I wonder if it is... at least to the same extent...

Your brain uses feedback information all the time without you really knowing it, so when you try and steady a rifle and you wobble to the left the feedback from your eye tells the brain to move right. This sounds obvious, but although you may be consciously aware that "you" are doing this, to some extent this is an unconscious process.... So with a higher mag you see more movement, and your correcting movement is magnified also leading to over correction and the cycle continues. How ever much you may be consciously aware of doing this entirely "by your self" your brain is really doing it for you. ... you don't think about balance when riding a bike, your brain takes care of that....

So with a lower power scope you see less wobble and therefore correct less wobble; therefore you are steadier.

I am not saying this is definitely the case, but my limited knowledge of the way your brain works tells me that it is probably true...

Last edited by Tom D; 15-05-2012 at 17:11.

I think you are replying to my post on the other thread? (in the extent of full disclosure I do have a psychology A-level!)

You may have a point. That said IF you are steady at 12X mag you will be steady at 8X! I like the comforting psychology of an (apparently) bigger target.

I have seen some impressive shooting with the HMR at lower mag, but if I am shooting at a bunny at 120 yards I like to crank things up to 16X!