How old is this Roe ?

Glen Cadwallader

I don't know its exact age but I have a pretty good idea. This Roe has come from Aberdeenshire, living on mixed arable land with intermittent conifer and broadleaved woodlands

photo.JPG

Last edited:
I'm no expert but I know enough to know that no man can age this animal with any accuracy as we don't know where it's come from or the type of ground it lived on. Obviously it's more than 1 year old but after that we're guessing. However I'll take a stab in the dark to get it going and say 6 years old.

Having seen the picture of the head he may be a bit younger that 6. Maybe he's been eating too many sweets?

I'm doubtful that he's really old as whilst his teeth are well worn I would have thought that they would have been right down to the gums if he was into his ninth year but I could be wrong, it happened once before all be it many years ago! Pedicles don't look that short to me either for it to be 8 years+.
We await with baited breath!

Last edited:
This Roe has come from Aberdeenshire, living on mixed arable land with intermittent conifer and broadleaved woodlands. If you are getting within a year / year and a half of its age I think that would be fine.

Here is the buck himself

photo112.JPG

Morning Gents.

All things considered, Head, facial greying, behaviour and stance when alive coupled with wear on upper and lower jaw, missing teeth on the top, the nature of the climate and feeding.. I have placed him as 8 going into his 9th year.

In any case, quite old.

My experience of ageing Jaw bones is all from Red's though so I will stand corrected if any more roe educated person would care to chime in!

I'd go with 4-5

http://www.thestalkingdirectory.co.uk/showthread.php/37618-Unexpected-Buck?highlight=unexpected+buck

I shot the one in the above link and there is a photo of his teeth in the initial post, I/we reckoned he was probably 9-10.

Ali