Thread: Now then

Now then

I've been looking through the site for a couple of days and thought it looks just the kind of thing I'm looking for so here I am, I'm based in Lincolnshire but travel all over the coutry as I've got an unusual job-I'm a professional crayfish trapper and also do a lot of coarse fisheries work (netting, electrofishing, re-stocking etc) in the winter when the crays are out of season.

I've had a .22-250 (remmy 700) for about 5 years now and do a lot of foxing, mostly on the lamp as well as doing a lot of rabbiting with the .22, ferrets etc. The reason I started to look for a site that's deer orientated is that we're seeing more and more muntjac around here, since the law changed regarding the use of .22 centrefires for munties and CWD I got the conditions on my FAC altered and have steadily become more interested in stalking them on local estates to the point where I'm out around 3-4 mornings a week watching them and taking a few. Last week I took the plunge and changed my remmy for a Tikka T3 in .243 so I would also be covered for Roe, I'm waiting for my variation to come through at the moment and am really looking forward to picking up my new rifle and getting out with it. I'm looking forward to learning more.

Distinguished Member tartinjock's Avatar
    Nairn, Inverness-shire
    Welcome to the site. Interesting job you do, not many crayfish trappers about I wouldn't have thought.

I have a T3 Lite in .243 and love it, never let me down yet.

Look forward to hearing of your Stalking. Don't be shy on here, everyone is willing to help on here, the more you put in, the more you get out of it.

Welcome to the site Benc

Funnily enough ive just bought some crayfish traps to get some of those yanks near me in Hucknall.

Ive noticed a few Munties around here too, I hope you get a few.

Congratulations on the Tikka, they're nice rifles.