Thread: Lamping Rabbits On Foot. What Equipment ?

Lamping Rabbits On Foot. What Equipment ?

I am thinking of helping someone with rabbit control, however the areas are not accessible with a vehicle of any sort so must be done on foot. Owing to proximity of hazards and ricochet risk the areas are not suitable for a rimfire either. A moderated shotgun would be a possibility.
    Lamping on foot is one aspect of shooting that I have no experience of and the only airgun I have is a HW77K non-fac in .22, which kills rabbits fine at short range if head-shot.
    What would members advise regarding suitable air rifle ? I have never owned a fac rated one nor a multi-shot or pre-charged type.
    Also what lamping kit do you consider best ? Is there a booklet on best method ?

keep it simple:

- Rifle/shot gun
    - Lamp (only needs to extend as par as the effective range of your air rifle/rifle/shotgun)
    - Game bag

Half a dozen adult rabbits get quite heavy once you've carried them for a while so keep your kit simple and lighweight.

Can't comment on fac air, but you should be fine with a non fac air or a moderated shotgun (moderated .410 would be ideal, if you can get close enough to them).

Its good fun, better if there are two of you, one lamps, the other shoots. Youcan also carry twice the number of bunnies home at the end!

All the best with it.

As DD said "Keep it sipmle" rifle /lamp /bag & if possible two are better than one when lamping