Nikon ATB Monarch

cerva

I am new to the stalking scene and I am gradually building up my kit. I would not like to spend a fortune on binos so I budgeted around £300. No doubt about the great Leica, Zeiss and Swarowski but the price bracket is x4 higher.

Most Nikon Monarch models sell for around £300. Although a 12x56 is the best on paper what are the views of the experts?
The weight doubles from an objective of x42 (0.6kg) to an objective of x56 (1.1kg). Will this be a real ‘burden’ on a stalk? Is x42 great for UK stalking?
Is x10 the absolute cut-off for bino magnification without a tripod? (magnifications available are x8,x10,x12)
To confuse the choice, a Monarch X, with alleged better optics, has just been released (but at almost twice the price).
I look forward for your opinions.

Binos

To be honest you dont need 56mm objective go for somthing with 42mm and you wont go far wrong. You dont want be carting the bulk and weight of the bigger bins.

Dave

I got nikon monarchs (8x42) about 4 years ago. Cheapish , but I can't fault them.The adjustable eye-piece cap thingys have given up working so I have duck taped them at desired setting.

I use them in the highlands alomost every week for stalking and reccommend them. They cost around £250 now as a result of the exchange rate. This is still ok given the quality.

I fitted butler creek flip caps up front which added to the cost ,however I hardly ever need clean (risk scratching) the lenses.Also worth attaching rear cover using shock cord as this keeps it in place untill the binos are needed;again this reduces lens contamination to a minimum.

Don't do it.

Get yourself pair of Pentax 8x43 DCF SP. I bought them after joining the bird watching forums and asking their advice (not letting on i was a deer stalker of course ;) ). You wouldn't believe how anal they are about their binos and spotting scopes.

Very good binos. My mate has a pair of Monarchs which aren't anywhere as good.