Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

hi all
    i hav'nt posted much on the site just done the voyeur thing of watched and reading whats going on , decided thats got to change and get stuck in to the forum so here goes

over the past few months or so i have been watching a small group of fallow doe's on the very lmited stalking ground i have. over theses few months they have been like clock work roughly same time and same entry points to enter the field every now and then a buck will appear with them. its been great sat there with bino's just watching and learning ( i am still a novice in the deer stalking game )

anyway decided i am going to put one in the chiller as meat stocks are running down in the house hold and the "good wife " has promised venison to some friends and family

planned the stalk of where i will be and where to i will see the deer, best shooting place etc.

i got to my location and got ready , i sat there blended in with the back round i had made a little niche in the hedgeway to overlook the deer area invisible to the world and not making a noise, perfect .

except no show on the deer, i'm sat there running through my head what have i done wrong whats diffrent etc etc etc. i still new to stalking so i'm questioning myself

i decide to call it a day light is falling but there is still 20mins or so left , i give the field i'm in a quick check before i leave my hidding place.

low and behold 70 meters from me in an area where i have never ever seen deer is the biggest fallow buck i have ever seen. majestic is the only word i can use .

i have a few seconds of contemplation over the shot as he looks so magnificent. i tell myself he is coming home with me, i have to leave the hide area to get the shot. very slow extraction from the hide and i get in a cracking position for a the shot.