Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bino's, what size is best?

Bino's, what size is best?

I am looking at getting my paws on some new bino's. I have an old pair of Optolyth Alpin 8x40's that I have had for 20 years. I seem to find I am not able to see far enough at times (when checking the target when zeroing tbh). I am new to stalking, what is the best magnification to go for 8x40, 8x42 or 10x40? Going to buy Swarovski's though.
    (Other option is off at a tangent...a new Beretta shotgun!).

Any recommendations / advice on what I should be looking for would be gratefully received.

Funny enough, I was going to suggest something like one of the pairs I old pair of Optolyth Alpin 8x40 !!
    I also use Steiner 7x50's for better light gathering...

IF as you say you are after more magnification, then it may be worth investing in a decent used telescope

Depends on budget, but I think one of the best buys around just now is a secondhand pair of Swarovski 7x42 SLC's. There seems to be a few on the go as folk trade them in for the latest model.

I have used mine for almost 16 years and recently sent them back for an overhaul. I was loaned a pair of the new HD bino's and admit to being tempted to trade in when they were returned.

Never did and probably never will as I don't think there is better as an all round bino for hill and woodland stalking to justify the extra expense...

Budget wise,peaking about 1400-1700 max. Looking at lifetime investment here!

Hi koevoet,
    I have a pair of Swarovski 10x42 SLC's. Absolutely brilliant but you need to have a steady hand or use sticks to avoid shake. A pair of 8x42 might be better especially if your going to do any woodland stalking. I have tried the zweiss range finder binos and found them superb, think your budget might just stretch to these.

I use 7x42 SLC and find them ideal for my stalking which is mainly woodland

Quote Originally Posted by Koevoet View Post