Teaching - where do I stand?!

BunnyDoom

Well I've been told I'm being made redundant, so attended a college induction this week. On seeing my CV/experience my tutor asked if I could teach the practical element of pest and predator control (I've 10 years experience) - naturally I'm chuffed!i get course credit and good contacts from it!

Just wondered where I stood with regards to doing demo's with firearms? I just want to take them through safety etc (live fire will be 1:1 mentoring to those interested)

Joke answers aside - you may want to run it past your local FLO in case they have issues with it - but a letter from the establishment inviting you in for the task should well be good enough reason to do what you want to do

EDIT: & make sure the college gives you extra credits/deducts that part of the course from your fee accordingly/pays you - or a combination of the above!!

Well I've been told I'm being made redundant, so attended a college induction this week. On seeing my CV/experience my tutor asked if I could teach the practical element of pest and predator control (I've 10 years experience) - naturally I'm chuffed!i get course credit and good contacts from it!

Just wondered where I stood with regards to doing demo's with firearms? I just want to take them through safety etc (live fire will be 1:1 mentoring to those interested)

Sounds promising and as you say may open a few doors for more shooting along the way.

I think that if I was going to take a rifle into a school or college I would remove the firing pin from the bolt and ensure that I had written permission from the headmaster/principle.

Good luck, mate.
Sounds like something that could be very rewarding.
Teaching a slightly "out of the ordinary" subject is great, because you tend to get students who actually want to be there, and want to learn. Once you all gel together as a group I think you'll get as much out of it as they do.