Thread: Help Need With Muntjac.

Help Need With Muntjac.

I put a post the other day about some land I've been offered. I may have muntjac on.
    Well ive been and looked round and found a few very small slots that would fit in a ten pence piece and very narrow. I have concluded that they must be muntjac. With all the foliage on the ground from the trees it is very difficult to determine numbers ect ect.

Now I've had the offer of the use of night vision which is great and a trail cam. But the night vision is not mine and would only have the use on 1 or 2 nights and trail cam has to be in the right place.

So my questions are if we were to go out with NV what's the best weather for muntjac to be out or does it make no difference.
    Also how easy is it to call them providing that there on the ground.

I have had extensive experience with red and roe but not muntjac bit of a novice.
    Thank you to any one who can help along with any tips for tracking the little suckers.

Are there any rides. If there are have a walk around a few times you're bound to disturb them and you will hear the barking which will confirm their presence. Trail cam near the places you have seen the slots will get you the pics. They tend to follow the same path when moving around. Light rain doesn't bother them. Make for interesting stalking. They will cross rides but don't hang around. More often than not they clock you before you see them.

Yes there are rides 6/8 mt wide but there are tracks through the long grass either side of the rides. Foxes badgers ect are there. As it is mostly all good grass with young trees the tracks are very hard to find. I feel it will have to be high seats and will power

If you ever need an extra pair of eyes mate im happy to come and have a mooch around with you and try find the devilish creatures. Wouldnt expect anything in return. Phil