Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How may deer have you shot?... / How many girls have you kissed?...

How may deer have you shot?... / How many girls have you kissed?...

I get asked this quite a lot and guess it's quite important to a lot of people... Feels a little bit like being at school and being asked how many girls I'd kissed! (wasn't many actually - pube-like curly hair, braces and acne!)

I've always had the impression, as with kissing girls at school, that there are three distinct categories of people:

1. Those that have
    2. Those that haven't
    3. Those that bullsh*t

Nope I've not shot thousands, or even hundreds of deer, it's in the dozens. I've got a 4 acre bit of land with a high seat for deer, and I have to pay for the rest or rely on invites from friends. I'm still learning and hope I always will be! In terms of shooting experience I've been shooting rimfire and centrefire for 12 years, I've shot hundreds of foxes, thousands of rabbits, and thousands of rounds at bisley (.308, .243, 223). I've got several hundred acres of fox, pigeon, and rabbit shooting dotted about. I also do vermin control work for several farms that friends work on but this is on request from the farmer rather than a "permission" (and I get paid on some of them!).

I first started shooting rimfire and centrefire in NZ where I worked for several months doing groundskeeping and vermin control - Possum, rabbit, deer, boar, and feral sheep (mainly possum & rabbit). I came back to the UK and found borrowing a gun from the boss and taking a wonder was a big no-no here! So I got an air rifle for the rabbits etc, then carried on shooting at bisley or going with friends with FAC's until I finally got my own land and FAC a few years ago. Got my DSC1 about a year later (useful and worthwhile but no substitute for experience IMO).