Thread: Complete novice alert... prepare for the stupid questions!

Complete novice alert... prepare for the stupid questions!

Hi all,

All my shooting experience thus far has been limited to shotguns I'm afraid. however I was lucky enough to be invited along on a stalk in Slovakia a few weeks back, but only as an observer. Anyway, it inspired me enough to book myself onto one of BASC's Forest Enterprise Stalking Scheme's stalks (Kings Forest) which I am looking forward to attending on Monday. I hope from there I can start to build up my experience and would welcome any views on the best way to build up experience and confidence with a view to putting in for my FAC in the new year.

All the best,

Welcome to the site. There's a wealth of info and experience on here (almost none of it mine ).

Your best plan is to watch and read and do a search on anything that you may want to know as it has probably been covered before.
    Best wishes and ask away.

You won't go wrong with Des on Monday, good chap, and plenty of deer on the ground round there. Good luck, look forward to seeing the write up......

Welcome to the site,

A clever man knows his strengths, a wise man knows his weaknesses

Hello James and welcome to the SD,

"Good advice is always certain to be ignored, but that's no reason not to give it." Agatha Christie

I'd recommend dong a couple of stalks to see if you think you might 'get into it', and then think seriously about booking for a DSC1 course. I had only done a couple before I did my level one and found that I learned loads on the course. (Jelen do an excellent online learning thingy if you do think of going to DSC route.

There is no such thing as a stupid question just an answer you haven't found yet

There is no such thing as a stupid question mate, and never be afraid to ask.
    You may well get the odd stupid answer though on here!
    Welcome aboard!

Drat - MS got there before me!