Anyone use 129gr SST's in 6.5x55?

D13REW

Hi all

Just wondering if anyone has any experience of the above? I plan to develope a load for my Tikka T3 but wondering what your thoughts are.

Thanks

Andy

Hi Andy, I reload for 6.5x55, Im using 129gr Hornady SSTs, Re.22, neck sized federal/prvi brass. cci primers
Sorry, dont have any experience with Vit. powders, 46.5gr Re 22 works OK for me. I started out on about 42gr and Ladder tested to end up with 45.6gr. Just for the record Im no reloading expert, am using Lee Ann. press and dies. I just want repeatable, acceptable accuracy and downrange performance. Im not entirely sold on SSTs, had some meat damage but they get the job done (fallow, roe + fox.....same load) I believe in keeping things simple!
What exactly do you need to know? cheers.

Hi Devonair

I've been reloading a little while now using RCBS gear Norma/Lapua brass and CCI primers. I have the start and max charge and intended to ladder up but just wondered what other people were using and what they thought of the rounds?

There are many on here more experienced than me but this is what Ive learned reloading for .243, .357mag, .38sp., and 6.5x55. As you know there are so many variables to deal with, try to keep things simple and change only one element at a time.
Record your findings and make notes, or all your labours may count for nothing.
Do you have access to a chrono? It can be useful to know what speeds you're doing.
Dont go too hot, you will just beat up your gear and yourself for no return!
Know the signs of high pressure, dont assume that load data from me or the interweb is safe, book data is ok (if a little on the conservative side, every rifle is different and caution is required when working up a load.
Sorry if you already know all this, better to be safe etc...cheers Jon.
PS I love my 6.5x55....

Hi,