Thread: Asking a landowner for stalking permission

Asking a landowner for stalking permission

I am wondering if any of you have any particular words you find useful when asking a farmer for permission to shoot.

I have had to travel to find good deer ground and although I have stalked in neighbouring areas before as a paid guest I am hoping I can offer landowners my services as an agronomist (crop science) in return for fox and deer control.

Are there words or ways you find useful. I work with about 50 farmers very closely in my line of work but this has been built up over time and none of them are from the area.

Any ideas would be well useful and although I am not a novice at it, the land has been poached heavily so I am sure farmers are sick of seeing stalkers wanting to manage deer and sadly poachers with fox calibres have ruined the stalking reutation which me and another lad are hoping to rebuild.

Dress and demeanour won't be an issue, I have that well covered.
    Last edited by Ronan; 16-01-2013 at 17:22.

just do what your doing feller slowly slowly try looking for deer damage on a walk and point it out to him , boots full in may be a turn off to some do's the farmers no you can help them out with both find out ! above all don't push , be yourself , thay don't like it. we help with fencing and ride clearing the stuff that cost them you could offer to give free help around the farm. offer to set up and find the poachers for them
    hope it helps good luck
    Paul o'

Offering my agronomic advice and free venison, would that help? Myself and another Lad from tis site can cover everything from rabbit to pigeon and fox control. Deer is always the bonus.

We are fully insured and qualified with Dsc1/Hcap, have food hygiene training when it comes to handling any meat for the landowner but most importantly willing to get the job done when it comes to pest control and land management.