Thread: droppers or scales ?

droppers or scales ?

morning all ......

as im new to reloading , and im loading only reasonable amounts say 40 rounds at a time would it be better to use droppers instead of scales ?

cheers lee

I'm a bit confused here, and I suspect you are, scales are for measuring the amount of powder, a dropper is for adding powder which means they have to be used in conjunction with each other.

Now are you talking about using a powder measure and "Throwing" the powder directly into the case, as opposed to measuring each separate charge individually. If so then IMHO if you have a powder dispenser set up and you are making hunting rounds, then I would go with the dispenser and check the weight being thrown by measuring every tenth charge.

regardless of whatever way you dispence the powder you will always need a scales to check the charge thrown. I presume you are using the individual dippers from Lee?
    Don't just assume that they are correct, you need to check with a scales. Therefore an accurate scales are esential to all reloaders, (along with accurate information - loading manual or access to the internet).

yes sorry for the confusion , i was on about the dippers form LEE ! to me they seem quite an efficient way of measuring the powder instead of scales .
    but i can see the case for using both !!

cheers lee

i wouldnt even bother with those dippers the best use i ever seen for them was a bloke who used to rub it on his trousers to get a bit of static on it and use it to pick up 3 or 4 grains of powder to help tip the scales

The Lee dippers are an efficient method of measuring powder by volume once you have developed a system to ensure consistency. When I started reloading we would make our own dippers using cut down cases with a wire handle soldered on to the bottom of the case. With practise it is possible to throw charges that are equal in consistency to any charges thrown by a powder thrower (not an electronic dispenser).