Thread: New Member

Hi just registered on the forum.

I have been shooting for about 30 years. Started off with a Brno 22 rimfire shooting rabbits and gradually expanded the gun collection from there. I have been stalking on a friends farm near my home in Sutherland for nearly 20 years. I have had very limited experience hill stalking for hinds. I enjoyed several years hunting Reindeer with Norwegian friends.
    For Roe deer and foxes I use a 22/250 Winchester Mod 70 + Leupold scope.
    For Red and Sika deer I use either a sporterised Enfield P14 .303 + Leupold scope, a BSA Monarch 7mm Rem. Mag. + Schmidt & Bender scope or a McMillan Talon actioned 30-06 + Swarovski scope.

I reload all my own ammunition.

Oxfordshire, Wiltshire, Berkshire....and Sutherland
    View my Gallery (19)View my Gallery (19)

Welcome to the site!

I know Golspie from my annual trips up to Sutherland. We often stop on the beach there to have lunch before heading up to the lodge - it really is a beautiful part of the world.

Would be interested to hear about your experiences hunting reindeer - I've seen them in the Cairngorms!

Hello and welcome to the site.

I don't live too far from you, just past Bonar Bridge. Is the rut on with you yet?

Hello to another Sutherlander!

Reply to all

Yes, Sutherland is a beautiful part of the country.

Reindeer hunting in Norway was an uplifting experience in true wilderness about 3000ft above sea level near a reservoir called Rosskreppfjord. The hunts were for 1 week in Aug/Sept for 4 years before the authorities stopped issuing licences as they feared that the reindeer population was not as large as first thought. We lived in a cabin with a log stove, no running water and an outside "toilet" (dont ask). But it had a solar panel to charge a battery for an electric light.