Thread: Does anywhere offer opportunity to test fire rifles?

Does anywhere offer opportunity to test fire rifles?

I'm new to stalking so have a sprog question.

It's typical to get the opportunity, up here at least, to put a good few carts through a shotgun before spending a substantial sum of money. Is there anywhere that offers the same opportunity with rifles or is it a case of reading through reviews and hoping to find a helpful mate with the same rifle and calibre?

If you post what rifle/calibre you are thinking of buying on here, Im sure there will be somebody prepared to let you try theirs, (unless you are going for a really oddball calibre).
    When I was undecided wether to get a 7mm rem mag or a 300mag and posted for advise, I had quite a few serious offers to try both before buying.
    I wish I was half the hunter my dog thinks I am

SD Regular
    Herefordshire, Hampshire or Essex
    Steve Beaty at Ivythorn Sporting offers a 'try before you buy' service - but he's a long way from you. The service is restricted to specific rifles you are interested in rather than a general information gathering exercise - but I don't think that's news. It would be nice to think tjhat others offer the service, but I guess it depends on rrange facilities. I know Brock and Norris used to do it too - not sure they can now Mike has moved to the new base. Have a hunt around - I'm sure an RFD locally will provide the opportunity.
    Nooooooooooooobody expects the Spanish Inquisition!! Our main weapon is.........

It is logistically a lot harder with rifles - many models, many calibres. Once it has been fired it is cannot be sold as new.