found the limit........

bewsher500

I have been loading for around 2 years now and never really seen the need to run hyper hot loads and as such never really needed to get close to stated max loads.

luckily my rifles have obeyed the law of the sod's and not had odd chamber preferences...until now

.222rem
Norma Brass
CCI400 primer
N133
43mm case
OAL of "about that much"
52gr AMax

VV data states:
3,452HPBTSierra54,02.126N1201,1617.987628741,2719.69573140
N1301,2819.889929491,3821.39753199
N1331,3721.191630051,5023.19983274

Their Max data shows 23.1gr

I normally shoot 50gr VMax and tried three of these as a cvomparison. (centre group, lowest one was the first AMax which I lost and thought had gone over the target som moved POA to lower cross and continued)

I was being a "good reloader" and worked my way up from 22.0gr in 0.2gr increments
all going well when I hit the wall on the first one of 22.8gr
Bolt was very stiff, case came off the extractor and was well and truly stuck in the chamber.
The case has a clear pressure mark on the head, very obvious brightening marks along its entire length up to the web

Just posted it to show you don't need to be near max to have pressure signs and the jump in signs was all or nothing.

load clock off sticks at 115yds:

002_zps8b0104ee.jpg

case:
004_zpsd3949e6f.jpg

006_zpse4a527f6.jpg

you know Ed, I was reading VV's loading data last night, and N160 for a 100g pill in .243 is recommended at max 39g (ish), but when I look on the likes of reloaders nest and such, most people are shooting 41-46g's of N160,,which according to VV, is WAY over max.

makes me question VV's load data...

ths84 on here had a similar issue with VV data when he started loading for his .243. Halfway through the load testing, going from min up towards max he had a very heavy bolt and a hard extraction. I agreed when he opted to stop there !