Thread: Damage To Bolt Face

Damage To Bolt Face

Hi All,

I'm new to bolt action rifles, so please excuse my ignorance. Attached are a couple of photos that show some damage to the face of a bolt on a 22.250 Mauser 98.

It takes the form of some light marking matching the point of contact with the percussion cap and in one spot of about 2 mm it is slightly deeper pitting.

My questions are:

Is this safe/normal on an older rifle?

If I need to, is it possible to get a new bolt as the rest of the rifle is in lovely condition?

As an aside there are no serial numbers stamped on the bolt, but every military rifle I've ever used had matching serial numbers on the rifle and working parts, and barrel.

Many thanks,

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Bolt Face #1.jpg 
Views:	104 
Size:	450.6 KB 
ID:	25024Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Bolt Face #2.jpg 
Views:	106 
Size:	509.8 KB 
ID:	25025

Should be fine. Think it's called primer erosion. Have seen far worse so can't think that is unsafe!

Doesn't look too bad yet. Would I be right in thinking that this is a rifle built on an old military action? If it is my guess would be that the damage was probably done some years ago when corrosive primers were in use. It's hard to judge from only a photograph but I would think that most gunsmiths who would look at it would say don't worry and just carry on enjoying the use of your rifle. None the less it may be worth getting a gunsmith to have a look at it sometime, a gunsmith not a RFD.

There possibly is a number engraved on the bolt somewhere perhaps only the last three digits underneath the bolt handle perhaps. As regards matching the bolt to the rifle yes bolts need to be headspaced to the barrel so it's not normally of just sticking another bolt in the rifle.
    It's the calibre of the shooter that counts not the calibre of the rifle.

Its fine,its primer etching caused by gas leaking back past the primer and won't have any affect on it's use.