Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Rifle Cleaning Advice

Rifle Cleaning Advice

As a novice I would like some advice on rifle cleaning.
    I have on advice bought a bore snake for my 6.5x55 and my 17HMR
    My question is should I apply some gun oil to the barrel before cleaning or some on the snake or not at all.
    Also I would assume you pull the snake from the chamber to the muzzle i.e in the direction of the bullet is this correct or does it make little difference.
    I have read on here some that don't ever clean their rifles and they hold zero fine and others that lose zero after cleaning.

All a bit confusing.

Advice appreciated.

Blaser 6.5x55

OOOhhhh are you going to get a lot of responses ...

All VERY confusing - but my opinion is that a snake is OK for the field if you have to. Other than that I use a rod and bush and wipeout - oh and a bore guide. Lots of stuff on here about cleaning but have a search for wipeout ... Some good video clips posted as well....

wipeout | Search Results | coriniumrange
    Last edited by murrayb; 04-03-2013 at 20:37.

Would only use the boresnake in a rifle when there wasn't another option: I've one for my 10/22 and for a 357 Winchester 1873. The main issue is that they (a) are not that effective and (b) will wear the muzzle crown no matter how good you are.
    Try a decent rod and get a bore guide. I use Tipton rods (carbon fibre) and have three: one for the 17, one for the 22-250 and one for the 30-06 and bigger. They're as stiff as a stiff thing and smooth. The bore guide is important as it helps reduce the wear on the throat.
    I use a pretty simple routine: Ed's Red (just google it!) less the acetone for about 10 - 20 bronze brush runs, then KG12 to remove any copper and a final wipe out with Ed's Red and a then a dry patch or two. If you're shooting one or two rounds you'll not need the latter too much unless the bore's as rough as a badger's butt.