Thread: Low velocity round

Low velocity round

After all the recent talk about handguns for dispatch, I was thinking why not have a couple of low velocity rounds possibly with pure lead heads, it would be easier to use than carrying a handgun.

nothing against handguns, its just one more thing to carry and I remember when they were legal, I had a go a few times and couldnt hit the barn from inside.

anyone tried it?

I have been shooting cast bullets at target and big game for over 20 years. What would you like to know? Is is practical? Yes.~Muir

More importantly, who cares! If you have to shoot again, as we all do from time to time, just use the next round in the mag. I have deliberately stayed out of the handgun debate as it is more about peoples egos than animal welfare. I have been a Stalker for 20 years and been shooting around 4-500 deer a year for the last ten of these and I have never felt the need for a pistol or any form of down-loaded cartridge. I have used a shotgun and .22lr on occaision when dealing with RTA's but in realistic, stalking circumstances you simply use the next round. Before any says 'if he's never used a pistol how does he know he doesn't need one'; I shot the Browning Hi-Power 9mm in combat shooting competitions for six years so am well aware of the handleing and accuracy capabilities of the weapon. I don't mean to lecture to anyone or presume to know it all but my advice is to keep it simple and forget the down-load idea. Best wishes,JC

So was that a yes or a no?

So was that a yes or a no?

Sorry mate, typing away and never realised that I hadn't even answered your question! No, I haven't tried it! Whilst I have given my opinions on the humane dispatch aspect, I am not discounting the idea of loading cast bullets at moderate velocity for plinking. I have no experience of how to go about this. JC

Well! I have killed a lot of game with cast bullets and prefer them to jacketed rounds when practical.