Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Made a right hash

Made a right hash

I went out about 6.30pm for a scout around,saw what looked like a fox on far bank,had a quick look through the binos,yeah it was and a good distance away,possibly a pb shot,I quickly range it and it was 409yds which would have been,it was heading up the bank so I ranged ahead,got down to take the shot and I was laying down hill and bipod wasn't high enough,I adjusted once and wasn't enough,the fox was getting near cover where I ranged ahead at 445yds,I gave it about 6 inches coz of slight crosswind and let the shot go,I saw the fox look up then walk on,soon as I let the shot go I knew I forgot to adjust the elevation ,I've never done that before,was too much of a rush,had to smile to myself,what cock up
    Last edited by swarovski; 31-03-2013 at 22:11.

Most wouldn`t have took the shot in the first instance.
    "He who kills sow with piglets empties the forest of boar" My neighbours dad on new years eve 2011.

How could you forget about elevation? Most would forget about windage

No, making a right hash of it would have been blowing a leg off.

All this happen i well under a minute and wasn't prepared,normal circumstances I would of been Laying in wait and all distances taken and elevation would of been dialled in and if any adjustments needed it would have been 1 or 2 clicks,at that range I would of missed 0.630m low,I know a lot wouldn't agree taking on a shot at that range but that's you.

I've had that happen but the other way round last year, was out doing a bit of long range bunny bashing when a 1/2 grown fox popped out the hedge about 80 yards from me. With 7.75 moa still dialled in I shot well over its back it bolted about 50 yards into the field and just sat there wondering what had just happened unluckily for it I realised my mistake and the second shot was bang on. You'll get him next time.