Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Vixens at this time of year

Established Poster
    The Central Belt of Gods Own Country
    View my Gallery (3)View my Gallery (3)

Vixens at this time of year

Hi All

Just wondering about peoples thought on shooting vixens at this time of year.
    Given that there are probably dependant cubs in an earth somewhere.
    I personally don't relish the idea of leaving dependant cubs.
    I completely understand that there will differing opinions on this depending on your needs and requirements.

All the best

As a sheep farmer, my view is that although I do not relish the thought, every lamb I save makes the deed a little more palatable.

The problem is you either shoot them or leave them to breed happily and have 6 times the problem over and after harvest by which time they will have hammered your ground nesting birds and leverets and the likes. With that in mind we shoot all the way through dealing with any litters we can locate as we go, preference is in finding the hole and then dealing with adults and then cubs but its rare its that simple.

Does this not get asked every year??
    Its a can of worms.
    Most shepards and gamekeepers will shoot them all year around when they get the chance.
    Other people don't.
    Those who make a living from the land and in a way where the fox may damage that living you can understand the lack of sentiment. Most who kill foxes now will try and locate the set and deal with the cubs as well as killing the vixen does not always kill the cubs.

Yep, although it's not the nicest thought in the world, most Keepers I know would agree that the last thing they need is an excited young fox slaughtering dozens of young poults against the release pen wire come release time.

There is no close season, they are shot like vermin
    I believe in compassion but ultimately if you are controlling predator numbers for the good of other populations you have to draw the line somewhere.